London’s Old Bailey courthouse has undergone change, renewal and growth since its first days in 1674. A remnant of the old city wall still lies beneath the building, yet the current structure only dates back to the early twentieth century, being opened by King Edward VII in 1907.
An element of grace and tradition adorns the top of the neo-baroque style dome, in the form of a 12 foot gold leaf statue of Lady Justice, a sword in one hand and the scales of justice in the other.
Growth and change have continued. The building was heavily damaged by bombing in 1941, requiring significant reconstruction; a modern extension was added in 1972; and an IRA bomb caused death, injury and damage in 1973.
Copyright Debbie Smyth, 4 January 2018
Posted as part of Growth