Skip to content

L is for… Latitude Zero

The Equator lies at latitude 0⁰ and is the only line of latitude that forms a great circle.  The imaginary circle created by projecting the earth’s equator onto the sky is called the celestial equator.

The equator cuts through the land  and/or territorial waters of the following countries:

  • São Tomé and Príncipe;
  • Gabon;
  • Republic of Congo;
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo;
  • Uganda;
  • Kenya;
  • Somalia;
  • Maldives;
  • Indonesia;
  • Kiribati;
  • Ecuador;
  • Colombia;
  • Brazil.

And here is the Kenyan equator:




Posted as part of Frizztext’s Tagged L Challenge and Alphabe Thursday.

9 replies »

Come join the conversation:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,601 other followers

Popular Posts

Balloons in Cappadocia
Clockwork Orange
Broadstairs to Margate: an easy coastal walk
Please do not feed the walrus
%d bloggers like this: