This magnificent Greek-style temple can be found on the Water of Leith walkway in Edinburgh, between Deanhaugh Street and the Dean Bridge.
At this spot, a mineral spring flows into the river, the waters of which were highly regarded for their medicinal qualities. The nobility and gentry took summer quarters in the valley to partake of the waters and it is known that there was a well house here as early as 1760.
In 1788, the owner, Francis Garden of Troup (Lord Gladstone), who believed he had benefited from the mineral spring, commissioned Alexander Nasmyth to design a new pump room. The result is a circular Greek temple supported by ten tall Doric order columns, with a statue of Hygieia, the Greek goddess of health, in the centre. The interior of the pump room below has a domed ceiling decorated with an ornate mosaic ceiling and a gilded sun face.
The pump room is not generally open to the public but the Temple is there for all walkers along the Water of Leith to admire.