The Ploumanac’h lighthouse is easily viewed from the coastal footpath, Sentier des Douaniers, a gentle stroll from Saint-Guirec. The first lighthouse here was built in 1860. Sadly, it was destroyed in 1944 but was replaced by the current structure in 1946. Its official name is Phare de Mean Ruz, from the Breton phrase Men Ruz, meaning “red stone”. Interestingly, its original format was grey granite; it is only in the new version that it became pink.
On the right, is the Korrigan bedecked building seen in colour here.
Copyright Debbie Smyth, 21 October 2016
Part of Weekend in B&W