Linlithgow Palace has had a long and flaming history, starting out as a royal manor in the twelfth century, developing into a Royal Palace and being burned down in 1424 and again in 1746. Its ruins are now well looked after and open to the public, but the previous damage means that imagination is required.
In the central courtyard stands an intricate fountain, installed by James V around 1540, including both the Lion of England and the Unicorn of Scotland. It would have been brightly painted in its day, and stories tell of it flowing with red wine on festive days.
Copyright Debbie Smyth, 15 January 2018
Posted as part of Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: U and O