There has been a water mill on this site since at least 1066, but the existing mill building dates to around 1800. The building and the power of water have produced gunpowder, paper, leather and linseed oil, before moving on to copper. The British Copper Company acquired the mill in 1808 and copper ingots smelted in south Wales were shipped on barges to the mill where they were rolled into sheets for a range of uses, including covering ship hulls.
The company also issued copper coins due to a national shortage of small denomination coins around 1809-1814. Although the coins have become associated with Walthamstow, it is believed that the majority were actually produced in Wales, but they were certainly used as public tender in Walthamstow until 1817.
The Mill had been closed for a very long time but has been renovated and opened to the public within the Walthamstow Wetlands. There are good views across the wetlands to be had from the top of the tower.
Copyright Debbie Smyth, 26 February 2017
Posted as part of Paula’s B&W Sunday