One of the entrances to Anglesey Abbey, Cambridgeshire, June 2020
Anglesey Abbey started its life as a hospital, in the early 12th century, and was converted into an Augustinian priory about a century later. It acted as religious home to a small community of monks until Henry VIII and his Dissolution of the Monasteries brought it to an end in 1536. The priory was left to fall into disrepair, with materials removed and used for other buildings in the area.
The current house was built in the early 17th century, based on the remains of the priory, and it has gone through several changes of hands since then. All of those hands seemed to take good care, though in the mid 19th century, the owner demolished the surviving medieval outbuildings to make way for a new stable block.
What we have now is a charming Jacobean-style house, set in beautiful gardens, and looked after by the National Trust. The house is closed at the moment, but the gardens are open and they are well worth a visit (picnics welcome). Pop over to their website to check opening hours and book your slot (necessary in the post-lockdown days)
Copyright Debbie Smyth, 25 June 2020
Posted as part of Norm’s Doors