Schloss Hellbrunn, Salzburg, May 2018
Apparently, pleasure palaces were all the rage in the early seventeenth century, and Archbishop Markus Sittikus helped set that trend. He became Prince-Archbishop of Salzburg in 1612 and didn’t take long to place his mark on the city. The foundation stone of the new cathedral was laid in 1614 and work on his palace seems to have started in 1613. Hellbrunn, named for the clear spring that provides water on site, was a palace designed for relaxing and entertaining; for day visits not for accommodation; for fun not serious. He ensured the place was adorned with quirky and amusing items to be enjoyed by the archbishop and his friends.
The place is now open to the public and its water fountains are a particular delight for summer visitors (you will get wet!) whilst, inside, there are stuffed unicorns and paintings of unusual animals. As for the eight-legged horse that came to Hellbrunn in 1673, according to its inscription, little is known, but it may well have take some inspiration from the Norse myth about Odin’s horse, Sleipnir. Whatever his heritage, he is a fine-looking steed.
Copyright Debbie Smyth, 2 March 2021
Posted as part of Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge