St Catherine’s Chapel and Almshouses, in Exeter, were founded by Canon John Stevens in 1457 to house thirteen poor men of good character.
The residents were transferred to alternative accommodation in 1811 and the almshouses fell into disrepair. During the Second World War soldiers were billeted here for a time, but in May 1942 this area was destroyed by bombs.
It was decided to leave the ruins as they were to serve as a memorial to the losses of that night. Glass doors have since been added in the position of the interior doors of the almshouses and artifacts found on site have been encased within the glass.